The Morning After: 1st Anniversary

Matt & I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary last night. We went to dinner at one of our favorite steak houses. I had a delicious red wine and I can’t for the life of me remember the name. So sad.

Let’s break it down!

The Gifts. I wanted to do traditional 1st year anniversary presents, which is paper)

For Him:

A moleskin notebook

A cigar

A cigar case

For Me!:

Juno DVD

Wine Guide Book

Magnet note pad with a K on top

Play-by-play:

We did presents before going to dinner. Mainly because I wanted Matt to be able to use his new cigar case and maybe smoke the cigar I blindly chose for him. But then Matt didn’t want to take a cigar. Major bummer. So we went to dinner which was DE-LISH!. We started with shrimp cocktail, followed by salad, then I had fillet medallions with crab meat on top. Bearnaise sauce on the side, a demi-glaze all over. Ahh-mazzing. I have a medallion & 1/2 left over for lunch today. Matt had a fillet. It looked divine.

So then we came to dessert time. A little bit of history on this, I had tried to get a small cake from the bakery that did our wedding cake. Long story short, they couldn’t make our spiced pound cake unless we got a 6 pounder (which feeds 40. Umm.. no thanks!). Then we were going to get a cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory. But when we were over in the area on Saturday, I wasn’t feeling well and just wanted to go home. So I decided a whole cheesecake was a bit much for just 2 of us. So then we were just going to get dessert at the restaurant. Fine by me.

So I had asked Matt if we were doing dessert at the restaurant. He said he had something planned. But then dessert time comes. We look at the dessert menu (how can you not when the waiter hands it to you?) and the waiter asks if we’re celebrating anything special. I guess two 20-somethings out to dinner on a Monday night indicates a special occasion? So Matt says yes, our anniversary. The waiter offers us FREE dessert.  We had to say no to FREE dessert. We got coffee instead, to which the waiter replied “I can’t put a candle in coffee, but sure!” Too cute.

So we go home. Matt’s dessert surprise- 2 slices of cheesecake! He got tiramissu for him and Adam’s Peanut Butter Cup Fudge Ripple for me.

Cheesecake

And champagne!


We watched 2 episodes of Entourage and called it a night. Overall, a great 1st anniversary!

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

Leave a Reply

