Baby It’s Cold Outside

Isn’t it absolutely frigid everywhere? It was in the teens last night. Brrrrr. Too bad it’s supposed to warm up today just in time for rain tomorrow. Boo!

So this is our 2nd Christmas being married, but our 1st Christmas staying in Richmond and not going to my in-laws house. Which means I had to figure out what the heck we were going to do for Christmas Eve & Day. So here’s the plan!

Christmas Eve:

Matt will be driving back from his visit with some friends in another part of the state. I will probably still be working on my super long to-do list that I just made. At some point, I will be making cheese straws. Possibly with my sister. And maybe my dad if he wants to  join in. It’s going to be BYOC. Bring-your-own-cheddar. Now that I have the coveted recipe from my grandmother, I have no excuse for these to turn out poorly.

Also at some point on Christmas Eve I’ll be cooking dinner for at least Matt, Ellen, and myself. Hmm this oven use might conflict with the cheese-straw baking. Here’s my menu:

  • Glazed Ham (a 9 pounder was the smallest I could find!)
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Stuffing/ dressing
  • Green beans
  • Rolls

Let’s hope I can pull this off.

The Christmas Day, we’ll be drinking mimosas somewhere (either here or at my dad’s house) and then going for brunch at my aunt’s house. Then I’ll probably have to finish cleaning for the in-law’s arrival on Friday.

I also have some sewing to do. At our Christmas celebration with my dad’s side of the family this past weekend, I gave my cousin this clutch I made (complete with a Starbucks gift card).

I also made this kitty tunnel for Alton as his Christmas present. It doesn’t look very tunnel-like, but he loves burrowing under blankets, so it’s right up his kitty-alley. It has a drawstring at one end so you can make it a kitty-sack. I got the pattern from the book In Stitches by Amy Butler.

I have some more sewing projects in the works, but I can’t say what they all are quite yet. I’m hoping to have some leftover fabric so I can make some cafe-curtains for the laundry room. I need some practice before attempting full-size curtains.

One thought on “Baby It’s Cold Outside

  1. The kitty tunnel is adorable. I’m sure Alton will love it. And I love the BYOC. That’s how I roll. Happy Holidays!!

Leave a Reply

