Oh-Nine

Lots of folks are talking about their New Year’s Resolutions right about now. I generally don’t do resolutions, but I do love how the New Year is a fresh start. Instead of posting resolutions, I’m going to post some goals.

I think I’ll set some long-term, year-long goals, but break those up into monthly goals. I know myself well enough to know that a long-term goal wouldn’t happen. So here we go!

Long Term Goals

  1. Lose 20 lbs. Man, I’d love to be back at my high school weight. I’m hoping that this will be the year that I actually follow through.
  2. Keep the house clean. To do this, I’m going to create a cleaning schedule that works for me and try to get away from the weekend-cleaning habit
  3. Try new recipes
  4. Walk the dog. I think more walks will generally help the pups to not be so excited all the time.

January Goals

  1. I’m going to start my weight loss attempts with setting a goal to run once a week. I’m hoping that this works pretty well, since one of my (many) issues with running is that it’s so dark out by the time I get home. I think that by starting with 1 run  a week, I can do that on the weekends during the daylight hours. I figure by the time I work up to 3 or more runs per week, I should be safely into Spring.
  2. My Jan goal for cleaning will be to make a schedule and see if I can realistically stick to it for a week. I’ll tweak this and have something set by month’s end. As I know from working with our budget, if you can’t stick to the plan, then it’s really no good. I don’t want to waste time hastily setting a plan but then failing miserably.
  3. I think I’ll start January with 1 new recipe per month. And this is pretty much accomplished already, as I have a black bean soup on the stove right now!
  4. We walked the dog today, so yay for us. I think 1 walk a week is a good starter here. Again with the daylight hours issue. And the cold.

So we’ll see how that goes.

I think 2009 is going to be a kick ass year. Around the house, we have a lot of things we’re hoping to cross off our list:

  1. Finish wiring the family room
  2. Paint the family room
  3. Make curtains for the living room, wet bar area, and dining room
  4. Get rugs for the front entry way, front hallway, and living room
  5. Organize the garage

Phew!

4 thoughts on “Oh-Nine

  1. Good luck with your goals! I really need to get on a cleaning schedule, too. I let things go too long and loose an entire weekend cleaning the house from top to bottom–grr! I need to get in the habit of doing daily things. Good luck to you!

  2. I think the cleaning schedule is going to be one of the hardest things. I’m hoping that after the first week of doing this it will get easier, since things wont be AS dirty after just 1 week. I just hate cleaning on the weekends!

  3. I also hate cleaning on the weekends. Kick off 2009 with a new attitude and you never know. I’m going to try to take walks before or after dinner to get active. We’ll see how long that lasts!

  4. Pingback: Resolutions Review « The Kesler Expressler

Leave a Reply

