Last Night’s Leftovers: Pasta with Brie

Last night I tried out a recipe in the November issue of Real Simple, Pasta with Brie, Mushrooms, and Arugula.

Photo from RealSimple.com

The first problem, however, is that I don’t do mushrooms. So I skipped that part. But just pasta for dinner is not quite enough, so I pan-seared some chicken breasts for a few minutes on each side, then transferred to a baking dish and popped them in the oven to finish cooking.

The second problem is that I’m currently out of white wine.

Let’s take a second to let that sink in. No. White. Wine.

But, I happened to still have some chicken stock in the fridge, so after the red onion had cooked a bit, I tossed some of that in the pan. Deglazing or something that like.

After the chicken was done (and the pasta was almost ready), I sliced it up and tossed it with the onions. Then I drained the pasta, mixed in the Brie, threw in the chicken/onions, and added some baby Arugula (I couldn’t find normal Arugula at the store).

The verdict: We’ll make this one again. But this time we’ll axe the Arugula. So really, it’ll be Pasta with Brie, Chicken, and Onions. And maybe I’ll make it with white wine next time.

Have you added any new recipes to your repertoire lately?

Leave a Reply

