Cleaning House

I think it’s a generally accepted truth that if you clean a little but each day you won’t have to do a mega clean on the weekend. This is a super idea, especially when the weekend rolls around and all you want to do is relax, or if you have unexpected mid-week guests.

I’ve made half-hearted attempts at keeping a cleaning schedule, but life gets the best of me and I can never stick to it for more than a few days. So Im going to blog about it in hopes of sticking to it. Feel free to join in and see if you can make cleaning a daily habit.

I’m gonna baby-step this thing. I made a list on a whiteboard that we have in the kitchen next to the fridge. Hopefully this will help remind me every day the tasks I should try to get done.

(as you can see, my kitchen still needs some picking up!)

For this week, I’m just going to try to make sure I do Monday’s task. If I can do any of the other day’s tasks, then I’ll be a super success. But considering that we vacuumed the entire house on Sunday, I’m not sure that it’ll make sense to vacuum again on Tuesday and Wednesday, but we’ll see.

I might add some tasks to some days if I realize that I’m forgetting something, but I think I’ve got the basics covered. Most of these tasks will take no more than 30 minutes, and spending 30 minutes a day during the week is WAY better than spending a few hours on Saturday and Sunday.

Do you have a cleaning schedule? Any tips or tricks that you use to stick to it? Or are you a weekend cleaner?

3 thoughts on “Cleaning House

  1. I love this idea! I’m always scrambling to pick things up right before company arrives, and I’ve thought of doing something like this, but couldn’t even think of a way to break it down. Seeing your whiteboard has inspired me!

  2. I’m going to be honest with you.

    I hate cleaning. I avoid doing it at all costs. I tried to have a “schedule” but I never stuck to it. So, I just vacuum a few times a week and keep things picked up. I clean off the counters and give it a wipe down a few times a week. As for deep cleaning, I never do it. Okay… I rarely do it. I should do it more, but I despise it. Luckily, we have people over a lot so I usually have to clean for that. Everyone always comments that our house is so clean and I just chuckle to myself… if they only knew. =)

  3. I don’t mind ‘picking up’ and ‘dusting’ and other light cleaning activities, but I am not a fan of the deep clean. Mopping the floors? NO THANK YOU!

    This is not my first time attempting a schedule. And I’m already failing. I just hate cleaning on the weekends so much. I’m hoping that by having stuff written on the whiteboard, I’ll feel guilty about not cleaning during the week. Even if I do my cleaning tasks every other week I’ll be better off.

Leave a Reply

