The Wife’s Guide to Surviving Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

As some of you may know, Tuesday marked the release of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (more commonly known as MW2). If the male in your life is anything like mine, then he has spent countless hours so far playing this game.

My darling husband picked up the game Monday night/Tuesday morning at midnight. Then he got home with his loot and played for three hours. As some of you might recall, Tuesday was our anniversary. We had reservations for dinner, but around noon, I IM’d Matt and told him that we could reschedule dinner for Saturday night if he wanted. After a few rounds of him asking me if I was sure, and I’m sure trying to decipher if this was a trap, he called and moved our reservations to Saturday night and I was proclaimed the best.wife.ever.

You see ladies, marriage is all about compromise, and I knew that if we had gone to dinner, he would have simply rushed home to play for a few hours before dinner, then as soon as I was asleep, he would go back downstairs to play some more. So instead, we ate dinner, sat on the sofa, and he played MW2 while I read Twilight. It ended up being quite the nice little evening. And now we get to celebrate our marriage again on Saturday night (hopefully without thoughts of MW2 swimming through his head the whole time).

So that gets me to some survival tips:

  1. Don’t even try to understand it. Sure, it looks just like Call of Duty 5: World at War. But it’s way better (apparently). (Edit: I mistakenly referred to ‘World at War’ as Call of Duty 4 when it’s actually 5. Matt has corrected me and filled me in on the proper lineage. )
  2. Wine. Or beer, or liquor. Whatever helps you get through the gunshots.
  3. A second TV. So you can retreat to the DMZ and watch Grey’s Anatomy in peace.
  4. In lieu of a second TV, Edward Cullen. This really needs no explanation.

And for those of you who seek ‘quality’ time (read: non-MW2 time) with your man, try to work out a schedule. It can help prevent fights or hurt feelings about how much time he’s spending with the game instead of with you. And really, we all need some alone time every once and awhile. There’s nothing worse than a bored husband/boyfriend.

Anybody else suffering from this or a similar problem brought on by your man’s obsessive hobbies?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged

3 thoughts on “The Wife’s Guide to Surviving Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

  1. You are such a nice wife! I bet your husband was so appreciative. And I agree, 2nd TV is a must! I’ve actually just started a blog along similar lines to your post, if you want to check it out.

Leave a Reply

