Recipe Review: Asian Chicken and Orzo Salad

When I try new recipes and we sit down to eat dinner, our conversation usually starts out like this:

Me: So, what do you think?
Matt: Ehh.. it’s okay.
Me: Is it a ‘make-again’?
Matt: Ehhh.. I dunno/ Yeah/ No
Me: Yeah, I agree.
Matt: You never remember what recipes you say we should make again!

So whenever we try a new recipe, I’ll post a review so you know how it went and if you should even bother giving it a try. We’re going to get this party started with the Asian Chicken and Orzo salad that we had for dinner Wednesday night (and Thursday for lunch!)

Asian Chicken and Orzo salad

We loved this one. It was super easy to make since I had already fixed a batch of shredded chicken. Also, the sugar snaps that I got were the frozen steam-in-bag kind, which meant that while the orzo was cooking, I just threw the bag in the microwave and let it do its thing for 5 minutes. Oh so easy!

I’m not really a red pepper and water chestnut fan, but Matt is, so I eat around them. If it were up to me, I’d make this with just Orzo, chicken, and the sauce.

Ohhh the sauce! It is DELICIOUS. I did omit the rice wine vinegar though, and I must say that I did not miss it one bit. The dressing for the Brown Rice, Tomatoes and Basil had rice wine vinegar in it and YUCK. I think that’s just a personal taste though, but know that you can leave it out and everything will work out just fine. We’ll probably use this sauce the next time we do stir-fry or other Asian dishes.

So, Asian Chicken and Orzo salad- you’ve made the cut! Congratulations!

PS- This made a TON. Next time I’ll likely just use a half-bag of Orzo (so, 8oz) instead of the full thing. That would still be enough for dinner for two and lunch the next day.

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Asian Chicken and Orzo Salad

  1. I did use the hoisin in the sauce. I’m not sure exactly what it is– it’s a thick- jell like consistancy. And dark like soy sauce. But I think the hoisin is what made it so good!

Leave a Reply

