Getting Healthy: Foodwise

Matt & I are big fans of Alton Brown on The Food Network. We did name our first cat Alton, after all. And to avoid any confusion, the Alton I refer to in this post is indeed Alton Brown, not Alton the Cat.

One of Alton’s new Good Eats shows is about how he lost 50(!) pounds recently. It’s really a great episode and I recommend it if you’re trying to lose some weight. One  of his key points is to NOT skip breakfast. I’m not a huge breakfast eater, so I was interested to see what Alton had to say about it.

Alton says he likes his breakfast to be “purple”…. purple smoothies! Here’s the recipe via Food Network. The ingredients are soy milk, a  “purple” juice, banana, strawberry, blueberry, and peach.

A liquid breakfast is TOTALLY up my ally — I’ll be able to drink it on my way to work- perfect!

He has some other great tips in the episode that we’re going to try to do- like eating more fish and less red meat.

2 thoughts on “Getting Healthy: Foodwise

  1. We made the smoothie tonight to give it a try. First, the Acai juice is delicious (but super pricey). Second, this thing is YUMMY. Matt found a frozen fruit “smoothie” blend so we used that and some frozen blueberries. So. Good. We’ve got tomorrow’s batch in the fridge, ready to be blended in the morning. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

