Freezing Friday

It’s no secret that it’s been pretty cold here on the east coast. And pretty much everywhere else in the country.

We had a “dusting” of snow last night, which naturally means that schools are delayed, because snOMG! Black ice! 1/8th in of snow! Buses will surely run off the road and kill millions of children! I’m amazed they didn’t close the state down, actually. All kidding aside, you would think after the 12-24inches that we got back in December, a dusting would be no big deal. But still, the schools can’t handle it.

But the snow sure is pretty to look at. And perhaps pretty enough to photograph. I’m contemplating buying the Canon EOS XSi and a 50mm/1.8 lens. I’ve been thinking about a DSLR for over a year now, keeping it on my wishlist with high hopes. But I think that if I want a DSLR, I’m going to have to take matters into my own hands. I have enough cash for the purchase (by just over $1!) if I pool my cash from various portions of our budget (like my clothing, haircut, and hobbies funds). I actually have 2 carts online right now with the order set, ready to hit ‘checkout’ (B&H and Amazon- both have free shipping, but I think B&H might be a bit more reliable for such a large purchase).

My reasoning for going with Canon is because I have a Canon Rebel x-something… just not digital. So I already have the kit lens and I also have another zoom lens. So, since those lenses are compatible with the Canon dslr, I feel like it would be a waste of money to switch brands, even though I’ve heard good things about Nikons.

So, we’ll see if I “pull the trigger” on this purchase. But regardless, it’s the weekend and I couldn’t be more excited! Here are my lofty plans:

  1. Clean and organize my office (including the closet!) It’s like a craft store barfed in there. Seriously, it ain’t pretty.
  2. Grocery shopping
  3. Make a big batch of smoothies for next week
  4. Meal plan
  5. Clean the house
  6. Plan and price out picture molding for the dining room
  7. Replace the air filters.
  8. Relax! It *is* the weekend after all!

What are you up to this weekend?

3 thoughts on “Freezing Friday

  1. Ohh! Do your tweets mean that you got the camera? How exciting – I got one just over a year ago and I absolutely love it! Have a great (busy) weekend! We’re being lazy this weekend!

Leave a Reply

