Office Update: Part 4

Here are the last of the updates to my office, for now.

(View the Mood Board, Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3!)

First, a Goodwill lamp. I’ve been wanting to buy a lamp from Goodwill with the intentions of spray painting it for awhile now. A few months back, I marched into Goodwill with this in mind and ended up finding this lamp (which is now in our living room) but didn’t have the heart to alter it since I loved the white color:

But a few weeks ago after getting the itch to revamp my office, I was browsing Goodwill when I found 2 lamps that I liked the shape of, just not the brass finish. I picked one up along with a silver bowl and milkglass vase and headed on to Sam’s Club for a few pallets of Diet Coke (we go through it scarily fast).

It wasn’t until I got home and was unloading the car that I realized that the Goodwill lady had NOT put the lamp in the shopping bag with everything else and I had left it sitting on the counter, totally oblivious! Thankfully, I swung by on my way home the next day and they had it waiting up front for me. Phew!

I got it home, made sure it worked, and that was about it for a few weeks while I debated what color to spray it. I ended up choosing silver for a few reasons:

  1. It could be used in more rooms in the house than just my office
  2. I didn’t (and still don’t) have a clear color direction in this room
  3. I’m a wuss

So after 3 coats in the freezing cold, the lamp was ready for action!

I bought a plain white lamp shade from Target. I might recover it with fabric later on once I have a more concrete color direction for this room. I also bought this cute glass finial for to replace the spray-painted-silver one that came on the lamp harp. I love the charm it adds!

I also mentioned that I bough a silver bowl from Goodwill. It was maybe $2 and I figured that even if I couldn’t clean it, it would still be a nice piece and inject some character to my office.

Since we don’t have any silver polish and I didn’t want to buy some, I used a paste of baking soda and water. This worked, somewhat, but I think the bowl was just too far gone. So I filled it with some turquoise stones for a pop of color. And you know what, the bowl might not even be silver. I don’t know how to tell if it is or not.

In my mood board for the office I have a daybed listed. I really would love to have a daybed, but I’m really concerned that it would end up way too cramped. Maybe I can find a comfy chair and ottoman on the cheap. Really I want somewhere to sit other than my desk chair.

I got those clear bins from the dollar store. Perfect price, if you ask me. They’re holding all my crafting stuff that used to be in the 2 big plastic drawers. I have more plans for these babies, including labels so I know where everything is without opening all 5.

I’m still not 100% on how to style the bookcase. I’m playing around with a few different ideas. This is sure to evolve over time.

3 thoughts on “Office Update: Part 4

Leave a Reply

