Recipe: Quick and Easy Queso

I made this queso on Super Bowl Sunday. We had some friends over to watch the game and then plan was to order pizza and wings {since we were painting all morning, then picking up the house all afternoon, there was zero time for home made pizza & wings}. I had meant to make this queso last week, but that meal never quite happened. But since I had everything on hand, I whipped it up about an hour before our friends came over {in case it was horrible I could just chuck it before anybody showed up}.

Thankfully, it was delicious. Dangerously delicious.

I adapted a recipe from Annie’s Eats, mainly because I was lazy and wanted to use canned goods. So I took stock of my pantry and went from there.

Unfortunately, I have no photo of the queso. It’s just too irresistible to take time away from eating it to snap a picture.

Quick and Easy Queso
Adapted from Annie’s Eats

Yield: about 2 cups
Ingredients:
1 tbsp. canola or vegetable oil
12 oz. white American cheese, shredded*
4 oz. Monterey jack cheese, shredded
¼-2/3 cup milk
14oz can rotel tomatoes with lime and cilantro, drained
2-3 chipotle peppers in adobo, minced
Dash of salt
Dash of cayenne

*the recipe calls for white American cheese. I couldn’t find this at my Kroger, so I got some white “Swiss” singles.

Heat the oil over medium low heat in a medium saucepan (1.5qt is plenty big). Add the cheese and 1/4C of the milk. Whisk or stir until smooth. Add milk to reach your desired thickness. Add the tomatoes and peppers. Don’t worry of the cheese seizes up. Things will smooth back out as it heats up. Add salt and cayenne to taste.

 

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Quick and Easy Queso

Leave a Reply

