Nursery Progress Part 1

As I mentioned, we went to Ikea this past weekend with a few goals in mind:

  1. Look at dressers for Baby K
  2. Look at bookcases for the 3rd floor
  3. Look at office chairs for Matt

We were super successful and exceeded our expectations. Here’s what we ended up getting for Baby K’s nursery on Saturday:

The Birkeland 6-drawer dresser:

The Liatorp side table:

And the Smadal bookcase:

This means the only major items left are a glider/rocker and a crib!

We also considered the Hemnes dresser but we ended up preferring the more traditional look of the Birkeland. We plan on replacing the pulls on the dresser. Hopefully we can find something a little more playful at Hobby Lobby or Anthropologie. The side table will be perfect next to a glider/rocker with a small lamp. The bookcase has a subtle pattern on the back but I might try to convince Matt to recover it with a patterned fabric or paper.

None of this furniture is assembled yet, but we have plenty of time for that. And I’d almost hate to assemble everything before painting. I’m sure I’ll get bored one night and start assembling some of it.

Speaking of paint, I got samples of Restoration Hardware’s Silver Sage, Martha Stewart’s Bedford Gray, and Glidden’s Wood Smoke. Unfortunately, all 3 were “no”s. I think we’re going to try Benjamin Moore’s Robin’s Nest as seen in this nursery:

Source: flickr.com via Leigh on Pinterest

 

And here:

 

So there we are for now!

Update! I totally forgot the orange accent lamp we got at Ikea for Baby K! This this is so crazy, we love it!

Lit up:

And super bad iphone unlit photo:

2 thoughts on “Nursery Progress Part 1

  1. Woah. Nice work. I love the fun wall color and orange light. I think baby rooms should be fun, not some of the group up ones I’ve seen around. I’m hitting up ikea this weekend and have a long list too (although for totally different purpose of course).

Leave a Reply

